Adding members, contributors, and owners to a channel


The Channels dashboard is broken up into two different key areas: 

  • A: Channel top menu: Here, you will find the Share option for adding members, getting a shared link, or sharing to social media.
  • B: Details panel: Used for adding members and setting contributor permissions.

Tip: You can directly add and share a channel from both of these areas. From the Channel top menu, find the Share option, and select the Add Members option. Alternatively, you can add/share using the Details panel by clicking on the Add Members option.

There are three ways you can share a channel to your plan members: adding members directly, setting the channel for company-wide viewing, and sharing a direct link. We will walk you through learning how to do all three in this article. In order for a learner to show in Channels analytics, learners must join, or be added to a channel by the channel owner, to have their channel progress show in Channels analytics. To explore more on Channels Analytics, check out our getting started article on Channels analytics.

Adding a member, team, or plan to a channel

Adding members directly

From the Channel page, click Add Members from the right navigation and type the learner's name or email address you wish to add. The toggle next to the member add bar makes it easy to set permissions for the new adds. Can view adds them to the channel as a member. Can edit sets the new member as a contributor (see Assigning channel contributors and owners, below). Note that all adding members directly adds them as channel members.

Adding a team directly

Why add a team to a channel?

Adding a team to a channel links the channel to the team, so any learner joining or leaving the team is automatically reflected in the channel membership. This saves time for anyone managing the channels on your plan, because adding and removing channel members to and from important channels is done for you.

How to add a team to a channel

Who can do this? Plan admins and team managers

Find the channel you wish to add a team to. Click Add Members on the right side of the screen, click in the field, and type or find the team you wish to add. From here, set the permission level of can view or can edit, then click Add members

How to unlink or remove a team

Who can do this? Channel owners, channel contributors, team managers, and plan admins

To unlink or remove a team, click Members in the channel and, in the drop-down menu next to the team, select unlink or remove.

What’s the difference between unlink and remove? Unlinking a team stops the automatic channel members management associated with the team, going forward. Removing the team unlinks the team and removes all members of the team except those whose role is different from the linked team’s. So if a team was added with Can view permissions and one of the team members is later given Can edit privileges, that team member will not be automatically removed when the team is removed, allowing users to preserve custom changes.

Adding a plan directly

Why add a plan to a channel?

Adding a plan to a channel links the channel to the plan, so any learner joining or leaving the plan is automatically reflected in the channel membership. This saves time for anyone managing the channels on your plan, since adding and removing channel members to and from important channels is done for you.

How to add a plan to a channel

Who can do this? Plan admins

Find the channel you wish to add the plan to. Click Add Members on the right side of the screen, click in the field and type or find the plan you wish to add. From here, set the permission level of can view or can edit, then click Add members

How to unlink or remove a plan

Who can do this? Channel owners, channel contributors, and plan admins.

To unlink or remove a plan, click Members in the channel and, in the drop-down menu next to the plan, select unlink or remove.

What’s the difference between unlink and remove? Unlinking a plan stops the automatic channel members management associated with the plan, going forward. Removing the plan unlinks the plan and removes all members of the plan except those whose role is different from the linked plan’s. So if the plan was added with Can view permissions and one of the plan members is later given Can edit privileges, that plan member will not be automatically removed when the plan is removed, allowing users to preserve custom changes.

Company-wide channels setup

In your organization, you may have certain channels that you want everyone on your business subscription to know about. Here's how to put those channels front and center for your learners: Company channels.

How to set a channel as a company-wide channel:

  • As a plan admin or team manager, find the "Advanced Options" gear from within a channel, find the Privacy Settings, and change the setting to Private - Only [company] channels.

  • This setting adds the channel to a tab found on the channel index page, that’s labeled with the name of your account.

  • If a user is associated with multiple accounts, they may have multiple Company channels tabs

Tip: Only plan admins and team managers can make a channel appear in the Company channels area. If you're a channel owner but not a plan admin or team manager, you can add a plan admin or team manager to your channel as a contributor (see section 4), then they can add it to company channels. They do not have to be the channel owner to do this for you.

A learner still has to join the channel to be considered a channel member, and appear in channels analytics. However, company channels appear on all learners' Channels bar, even if they aren't a member of the channel. 

Company channels are displayed in the order of last activity, so learners may have channels showing in a different order because of when they last viewed content in the channel.

Sharing a direct channel link

If you don't know exactly which people in your company would get the most use out of the channel you created, the shared link can help.

Navigate to a Channel you wish to share and find the Share option at the top of the page. Choose to Copy the Link option for a shareable link to your channel.

Do you have a team member who wants to highlight a channel she's created, and share it with her peers across the industry? There are also sharing buttons in the Share menu that can help share her channel on LinkedIn, Facebook, or Twitter.

Important: Sending people the channel link does not add them to the channel. When sharing a channel link, learners must click the Join button to join the channel, which allows their progress to appear in channels analytics.

back to top

Assigning channel contributors and owners

Maybe you created a channel for someone else on your team to build up. Or, maybe someone on your plan started a channel, but now someone else has moved into their role - including being in charge of adding content and members to the channel.

By default, the channel owner is the person who creates a channel. Click here for more details about roles and access levels in channels.

To set a channel contributor or owner, go to the Channel page, and find the Members section on the right-hand side, below Details. Then, click the three dots icon next to a channel member's name. The menu that appears will let you set their contributor level.

Contributors must be members of the channel. If you need to add someone and make them a contributor, you can do both at the same time. Simply click Add Members, type your learner's name or email address, and select Can edit to set the new member as a contributor.  

Tip: A channel always has an owner and never has more than one owner. When changing ownership, the previous owner is downgraded to a contributor.

back to top