Assigning and revoking licenses

Tags: Skills

On a Pluralsight Skills team plan, you have flexibility in how you assign both plan licenses and add-on licenses—either at the time you invite users to the plan, or later when you need to make adjustments.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:     
Admins:  +++
+ Available on plans that have purchased
an applicable plan add-on


Assigning add-on licenses

You can purchase select add-on licenses to assign at a user level, instead of purchasing them for your entire plan. User-level authorization helps you control costs while providing these features to those who need them.

The following add-on licenses can be assigned with user-level authorization:

  • Labs and sandboxes
  • Tech Foundations

Speak with your Pluralsight contact to discuss these and any other add-on licenses you wish to purchase for your team plan.

Note: Add-on licenses must be purchased before they can be assigned. You can find any add-ons available to your plan, including number of available licenses, on the Plan tab of your Account page (opens in new tab).

back to top


Assigning licenses to existing users

These instructions show you how to assign licenses right in the Skills platform. However, if you’re managing large organizations, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process.

To assign add-on licenses:

  1. Click the Directory tab on the People page (opens in new tab).
  2. Select a single user, or multiple users to whom you want to assign the same licenses.
  3. Click Actions, then Manage licenses.
  4. Select the add-on licenses you wish to assign.

Note: Users must have a plan license before they can be assigned an add-on license.

(This image may differ from your experience based on the license types you've purchased.)

  1. Click Next.
  2. Review the changes on the confirmation screen.
  3. Click Update licenses to make the changes, or Back to adjust your selections.

Tip: When assigning licenses to multiple users at the same time, take note of the state of the various licenses when you first open the Manage licenses screen:

  • Each license type will display the number of licenses you have available to assign.
  • A checked checkbox indicates that all selected users already have this license. Deselecting it will revoke the license from all selected users.
  • An unchecked checkbox indicates that none of the selected users already have this license. Selecting it will assign the license to all selected users.
  • A mixed-state checkbox indicates that one or more—but not all—of the selected users already have this license. Leaving it in this mixed state will result in no change for this license’s assignment. But changing it to either checked or unchecked will affect all selected users.
  • A disabled checkbox indicates that you don’t have enough licenses purchased to assign to all the selected users. You can either purchase additional licenses, or cancel and repeat the process for a smaller selection of users.

back to top


Assigning licenses to new users

These instructions show you how to assign licenses right in the Skills platform. However, if you’re managing large organizations, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and provide greater flexibility in assigning team/license combinations.

To assign licenses while inviting new users to Skills:

  1. Click the Directory tab on the People page (opens in new tab).
  2. Click Add new user.
  3. Enter the email address for one or more users.
  4. Assign the user(s) to one or more teams (optional).
  5. Click Next.
  6. Select the licenses you wish to assign.

Note: When assigning add-on licenses to new users, you must also assign them a plan license.

  1. Click Preview email if you wish to see the invite message your new users will receive.
  2. Click Invite users.

Tip: When assigning licenses to multiple users at the same time:

  • Each license type will display the number of licenses you have available to assign.
  • Selecting a license checkbox will assign the respective license to all selected users.
  • A disabled checkbox indicates that you don’t have enough licenses purchased to assign to all the selected users. You can either purchase additional licenses, or cancel and repeat the process for a smaller selection of users.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.