Atlassian cloud changes: What that means for your data in Flow

Tags: Flow

Overview

At the end of April 2019, Atlassian is planning to implement changes to their cloud products to comply with GDPR requirements.  

These changes impact the interface between Flow and Atlassian.  They reduce the data that is available through Atlassian’s API’s.  At Flow, we have proactively updated our systems to provide our customers with the most complete data available from the vendor, but you may see some impact to the way user data is imported from Jira cloud and Bitbucket. Check back often, as we will keep this information updated as Atlassian rolls out their changes and we see the impacts of those changes go live.

What you may see: Atlassian no longer provides the user’s name or email address in their API.  Instead they provide the user's Atlassian account ID.  If we can match this up to what we already have from before the update, we’ll just go ahead and do that, but if we can’t, then you may see users that have the name of:  PrivateUser-<last 12 of the Atlassian account id>.


What privacy settings, specifically, impact this? 
  • Jira:  This will be updated after the release with relevant screen shots.
  • Bitbucket cloud:  It is not possible to turn this off based on settings on the customer side.

If I see PrivateUser, what can I do?

We hope to have a better answer for you here and as we see the full impacts of the changes, we may make some updates, but for now, this is our best recommendation.

Step 1: Find any private users by searching the Users page:


Step 2: In another window, search for the private user in the Work log (or in our API) to see what work they have authored (commit, PR, ticket etc.).


Step 3: Once you have located the user, click on any of their work (commit or ticket) to view in Jira or Bitbucket. You will then be able to identify which user actually authored the commit or ticket.



Step 4: Now that you have identified who the user is, you can rename the "Private User" to reflect the user's name. In the menu bar go to Settings then click Users and search and click on the Private User.


Step 5: On the User details page, click Edit next to the user image.


Step 6: Change the "Display Name" to the name of the user and click Save.


Step 7: In order for the user's data to be consolidated under their main apex user, you will need to merge this alias into the apex user. Return to the User page and click Merge users.


Step 8: Search for the user's name.


Step 9: Drag and drop all the user's aliases from the left side over to the right side. Make sure to select a target aliases (preferably the user's login or company email). Click Save to merge the aliases together. For more information about merging Users, see how to merge users.


Step 10: You have successfully merged the aliases together. Now, only one user shows up on the left hand side.



back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.