What are the different roles for people in channels?

In a group plan channel, there are three roles: owner, contributor, and member. As long as they have a Pluralsight license, owners, contributors, and members can view Pluralsight courses that are listed in the channel. In addition, plan admins and team managers have certain privileges in a channel--for example, the ability to set a channel as a company-wide channel--that non-admin channel owners and contributors don't have access to. Here's a quick glance at what each role can do.

Channel member

A channel member is a learner who has joined the channel. There can be multiple channel members. 

Channel member privilegesWhat you cannot do as a channel member
  • Leave channel
  • Change channel ownership

  • Promote others to contributor

  • Add/remove members*

  • Add/remove content

  • Edit channel name/description

  • Delete channel

  • Change channel privacy settings


* Any learner can copy and share the channel link with others. Others in the group plan can join the channel once they have the link to it, unless the privacy setting of the channel is set to Private-Just me

Channel contributor

A channel contributor is someone who has joined the channel and has been given certain editing privileges, especially the ability to add and remove content. There can be multiple channel contributors.

Channel contributor privilegesWhat you cannot do as a channel contributor
  • Promote others to contributor

  • Add/remove members

  • Add/remove content

  • Edit channel name and description

  • Leave channel


  • Change channel ownership

  • Delete channel

  • Change channel privacy settings


Channel owner

A channel owner is usually the user who created the channel; they have the most editing privileges in the channel. There can be only one channel owner.

Channel owner privilegesWhat you cannot do as a channel owner
  • Change channel ownership

  • Promote others to contributor

  • Add/remove members

  • Add/remove content

  • Edit channel name/description

  • Delete channel

  • Change channel privacy settings


  • Leave channel**

** If a channel owner leaves the group plan, members will lose access to the channel. To avoid the loss of access, the channel owner should assign a new channel owner by following these steps:

  1. Add the learner to the channel if they’re not already a member.

  2. Click on the three dots next to the learner’s name.

  3. Choose the third option to select Make owner. At this point, the old owner is downgraded to a contributor.

If your group plan has had a channel owner leave, causing the loss of a channel, please reach out to support@pluralsight.com with details.

Plan admins and team managers

Plan admins and team managers have certain privileges in a channel that non-admin channel owners and contributors don’t have access to.

Team manager privilegesPlan admin privileges
  • Enable Company channels for plan

  • Set a channel to display in Company channels

  • View channels analytics*** for all channels

***When a learner leaves the plan, their history will be removed from channels analytics. If they rejoin or are re-added to the plan, their progress data will be restored.

Note: Plan admins and team managers don’t need a Pluralsight license to create a channel. While they can’t watch the content, plan admins and team managers can create a channel; view channel analytics; add both content, members, and contributors to the channel; and remove both content, members and contributors from the channel, without a Pluralsight license.