Creating a channel and adding content

Channels help you organize and prioritize the content you want to learn.

In this article:


Creating a channel

There are several ways to create a channel. Choose the method below that works best for you. Then keep reading to discover how to add different types of content to your channel, keep your content up to date, and control privacy settings.

Method 1: From the Channels page

To add a channel from the Channels page, follow the steps below:

  1. Locate thechannel icon on the left-pane navigation.
  2. Click the Create channel button in the top-right hand corner of the page.
    • For group plans: Create a name, description, objective, privacy level, and account you want your channel to live in.
      If your Privacy level is company-wide, select which advanced settings you'd like to include for your channel.
    • For individuals: Add the name and description for your channel.
  3. Click Create.

Method 2: From a video course, projects, or path page

To add a channel from a video course page, follow the steps:

  1. Locate the video course or path you wish to add to a channel.
  2. Click theAdd to Channel option under the course description.
    • On video courses and projects, this is located under the course description.
    • On the path page, this is located in the top right corner.
  3. Create a channel name and click the orange + icon. You can also add to an existing channel, instead.

Method 3: From your bookmarks, all paths, or search results

  1. Find the content you wish to add and click theOptions menuoptions menu on the far right of that content.
  2. Select the Add to channel option.
  3. Create a channel name and click the orange + icon. You can also add to an existing channel, instead.

Now that you've created your first channel, let's explore how to add content into the channel.

back to top


Adding content to your channel

There are three main types of content you can add to a channel: individual courses, individual paths, and external links. Below are steps to add content to a channel:

  1. On your Channels page, click the Add content button.
  2. Choose between course, path, or external link.

Choosing a course or path directs to the course or path page to look for content.

Choosing external link will display a popup with a URL field to paste your external link. From there, you can name the resource, categorize it, and record the hour and minute duration of the resource. 

Tip: Make sure to name the external link so it's easy for your team to recognize.

Why use external links?

You may have resources on your company website, GitHub, Dropbox, or Google Drive that you want to make sure your learners know about. This is where external links come in. 

Add a link to these valuable resources to your channel for easy reference. Clicks on an external URL will reflect in channels analytics. External links may have their own privacy settings, independent of the channel's privacy settings.

To edit the external link—for example, change its title or skill level—click theOptions menuoptions menu on the far right of that content, and click Edit

You can also Delete the link to remove it from the channel.

What about adding modules within a course?

It's possible to have just certain modules, instead of the whole course, in a channel. This doesn't prevent other modules in the course from playing, but it does serve as a suggestion of which modules to view. To add a specific module from a course, add the course to the channel. Then, in the channel page, expand the course, and click Edit. Then, remove modules except for the module you want.

back to top


Keeping your channel content up to date

Your Pluralsight subscription gives you access to the most up-to-date content, with new content released weekly. In addition to releasing new courses, Pluralsight retires older content when updated courses are released.

When a new course is available to replace a retired course, you will see a “New Course Available” notification in the channel prompting you to swap out the old for the new.

  • If you are the channel owner or a channel contributor, clicking the notification will give you the option of swapping out the old content. Once replaced, this cannot be undone.
  • If you are a channel member (not an owner or contributor), clicking the notification will prompt you to contact the channel owner to refresh the content.

Important: If you swap older content to newer content, the completion rate for any channel member who has completed the replaced course will update (decrease).

If the newer content already exists in the channel, replacing the old content with the new will cause an error. Instead, just remove the old content (since its replacement already exists in the channel).

back to top


Sharing channels and controlling privacy settings

If you aren't a member of a group plan, here's how to share a channel. By default, any Pluralsight user can see a channel another individual user creates, if they have a channel URL.

  1. Navigate to the channel you wish to share.
  2. Click theOptions menuoptions menu next to the Add content button.
  3. Click Share and choose how you'd like to share the channel.

In group plans, new channels are private to the channel owner's organization. This way, your whole company can get the benefit of channels created.

However, the channel owner can change the channel privacy setting to Personal - you and people with the link. This is helpful when creating a channel that's still in development before sharing it, or for personal learning.

Tip: Channels on Professional and Enterprise group plans can be shared in even more ways. Check out how to add members, contributors, and owners.

back to top

If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.