Does analytics data follow learners?

Yes! Analytics data follows a learner as the learner moves from one plan or subscription to another. The availability of analytics data is influenced by the type of analytics, your role as a plan admin or team manager, and the addition and removal of learners. In this article, we go over how each analytics report follows learners as they join and leave plans and how your role influences that data availability.

Who can use this?

 Pers
Prem
Pro
Ent
Learners:



Managers:  
Admins:  

Which analytics follow learners?

You may have learners who were already active Pluralsight Skills learners before they joined your business plan. You may be interested in those analytics. Some analytics data is available from before the learner joined the plan.  

When a learner leaves your plan, you may want to continue viewing their analytics from when they were on your plan. Some analytics data is still available after the learner leaves the plan. See the table below for which analytics is available when.

Analytics Report

Before the learner was added to the plan

Current learners

After the learner leaves the plan

Inventory


Users


Usage


Content


Subjects


Skills


Roles



Channels



back to top


Which analytics are available to plan admins and managers?

The  availability of analytics data is influenced by your role as a plan admin or team manager,  how a learner joined or left a plan, and the type of analytics.

Plan admins vs team managers

Plan administrators see analytics data on all learners and teams on the group plan. If you are both a plan administrator and a  team manager, you can see all learner data in analytics. Learn how to set and change plan admins and team managers for your group plan.

Team managers only see analytics data on the learners in the teams they manage. A team manager can oversee other team managers. Those team managers can only see the team managers' data on their team. They cannot see their team managers’ learners’ data.

Note: In channels analytics, team managers can see their team learners’ progress in any channel visible to your team or company. This is true even if a different learner, who isn’t on the team, created the channel.

back to top


How does adding and removing learners affect analytics?

As a plan admin or team manager, you may add learners, remove learners, and move learners within the plan. Each situation affects what analytics are available for a learner.  Use the table for an overview of what analytics you can view in these different situations.

Individuals joining a business plan

Your learner may have had a subscription before joining your plan.  If the learner joined your plan with the same email address as their subscription, you will only see data in Skills analytics. If the learner used a different email address, you will not see any analytics data.

Learn how to invite a learner to a business plan.
Learn how to accept an invitation to a business plan.


Plan Admin
Team Manager
Analytics available
Skills analytics  
Skills analytics
Analytics not available

Inventory
Content
Subjects
Channels
Roles
Inventory
Content
Subjects
Channels
Roles

Individuals moving from team to team


If a plan admin or team manager moves a learner from one team to another, the learner's analytics moves with the learner. No analytics data is lost when a learner moves teams. However, what analytics is available to the team managers will change.

Tip: Usage analytics is updated in real time. When you add a learner to your team, their data in usage analytics shows up instantly. For more information, please see our article How current is analytics data?

Plan Admin
New Team Manager
Old Team Manager
Analytics available
All analytics
Users
Content
Subjects
Skills
Channels
None
Analytics not available
None
None
All Analytics

Individuals leaving a business plan

After the learner leaves the plan, only plan admins can see their data. This data does not update if the learner continues learning on another group plan or an individual subscription.
Tip: To view removed learner data, use the All Users filter option. Removed learner data is not available in Skills, Channels, or Roles analytics.

Plan admins
Team managers
Analytics available

Content
Inventory
Subjects
Usage
Users
Removed learner data
None
Analytics not available
None
All analytics

Returning individuals

If a learner is removed and then re-added to the plan, the learner's previous data will become available again.

Any activity after the learner was removed from the account, but before the learner rejoined, is not shown in the analytics. It may take a few minutes for the historical data to repopulate.

Plan admins
Team managers
Analytics available
Data before removal
Data after rejoin
Data before removal
Data after rejoin
Analytics not available
Data after the learner was removed and before the learner rejoinedData after the learner was removed and before the learner rejoined


back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.