Editing channels

Tags: Skills

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:
Managers:  
Admins:  

 

Note: You can only edit channels for which you are the owner or a contributor. See Understanding the different roles in channels for more details.


Organizing your channel

Channels help you organize your content in the way that works best for you. For example, channels can be combined into channel groups. And within channels, your content can be further organized into sections. The following diagram shows how you can organize your channels:

If you’re on an Enterprise plan, you may also see priorities in your channels as a larger container that holds channel groups. See priorities for learners for more information.

Channel groups

Channel groups allow you to structure your channels thematically (for example, around a specific initiative or set of skills), sequentially (for example, from beginner to advanced topics to help you learn the right skills in the right order), or however you choose.

Note: You can only create, edit, and delete personal channel groups.

Adding a channel group

To add a channel group:

  1. Click on the + plus icon next to My groups on your channels home page.
  2. Give your channel group a name and a description.
  3. Click Create group.

Once you have one or more channel groups, you can expand or collapse the list by clicking on My groups.

Adding channels to a group

To add a channel to a channel group:

  1. Locate the channel.
  2. Click on the ••• options menu.
  3. Choose Add to group.
  4. Add the content to an existing group.
        —or—
    Type a new channel group name and click the + plus icon.

Editing or deleting a channel group

To edit or delete an existing channel group:

  1. Select it in the My groups list.
  2. Click on the ••• options menu next to the channel group’s name.
  3. Choose Edit or Delete.

Working with priorities channel groups

If you’re on an Enterprise plan that uses priorities, you can also work with the channel groups that are part of the priorities your plan admins have set up for your organization. Please see Engaging with priorities for more details.

Channel sections

You can add sections to your channel for more custom organization of your channel content. Sections can be collapsed or expanded to help the members of your channel focus on the content that’s relevant to them (see Adding channel members to learn how to share your channel with your team).

To create a section, open the channel and click Add section. Give the section a name and press enter. You can then drag and drop the section up or down to your desired location, and you can drag and drop any content already in the channel into your new section.

To remove a section, click the X on the far right side of the section. A pop-up alert will ensure that you really want to remove it. Click Yes, remove section to proceed. The section will be removed, but any content within the section will remain in the channel.

Reordering content

To reorder the content within a channel or channel section, you can drag and drop any item up or down to your desired location. A grab bar will appear to the left of the content's thumbnail image when you hover your mouse over an item.

back to top


Copying content from one channel to another

To copy content from one channel to another, find the content you wish to copy, and click the ••• options menu on the far right of that content. Click Add to channel and select the channel you want to add it to.

To move the content (rather than copying it), follow the above steps to copy the content to the desired channel. Then click the ••• options menu and click Remove to remove it from the current channel.

back to top


Removing modules within a Pluralsight Skills course

When adding courses to your channels, you may find that some course modules are less relevant to your channel objectives. You can remove such modules to keep the channel focused on what's important to you.

Removing modules does not stop them from playing. It serves as a suggestion for you—or those using your channel—to skip those modules. To remove modules within a course:

  1. Open the channel you wish to edit.
  2. Find the course you want to remove modules from.
  3. Click the down arrow on the right side of the course. Then, click Edit near the course's Table of Contents. This will populate check box selectors for the content.
  4. Uncheck the modules you want to remove.
  5. Click Done when you're happy with your selections.

Note: Learners using channels on mobile devices will see the entire course. 

back to top


Duplicating a channel

To duplicate a channel, locate the channel, then click the ••• options menu next to the Add content button. Click Duplicate Channel and fill in the details, including the name, objective, description, and privacy settings.

back to top


Deleting a channel

To delete a channel, locate the channel, then click the ••• options menu next to the Add content button. Click Delete Channel. Deleting a channel is permanent and cannot be undone.

Note: You can only delete channels you've made. You cannot delete a channel made by someone else. 

As an alternative to deleting, you can also archive a channel to remove it from your active list, without permanently deleting it. Please see archiving a channel for details.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.