Hidden Users

Tags: Flow

When importing an open source repo, any users who contributed to that repo are imported with the repo’s data. This includes users outside the organization. These outside users can clutter your user list and make managing your actual users challenging. Hiding these users allows you to focus on the users on your team and capture their metrics accurately. 

Note: Users who are not part of your organization and who were imported with an open source repo do not have access to your instance or data. Hiding users does not delete them. 

Learn more about managing users: hiding versus excluding users.


What happens when I hide users?

Hiding users hides users from your user list and excludes them from metrics. Hiding users does not delete the user.

Hiding users:

  • Removes them from the main user list and moves them to the hidden users page

  • Removes them from teams

  • Removes them from reports

  • Removes their metrics

  • Includes them in auto-merging. Hidden users may have a matching ingested alias. When using auto-merge, that alias is merged into the hidden user and stays hidden. You do not need to re-hide the user if they are re-ingested from another repo. 

When a user is hidden: 

  • You cannot view their PRs, PR comments, or PR activity

  • You cannot view their commits or commit activity

Note: Hiding a user with Flow access disables this user's login to Flow. You will receive a warning in the confirmation modal if one of the selected users has a login. You can only re-enable a user’s login from the Hidden users page or their detail page by unhiding this user. If this user’s login provides access to Skills, they will still have Skills access.

back to top


What do I need to do before hiding users?

Before hiding users, make sure all users are on a team and complete your team members’ merge suggestions. This helps you filter and hide the users that aren’t part of your organization. Learn more about merging users.

back to top


Hiding users who are not part of the organization

The best way to hide users who are not part of your organization is to use filters to find those specific users and then hide them. 

Setting the filter allows you to see who is part of your organization and who is not. Use the filter to isolate users who are not part of your organization. Some of these users may have more than one email address. 

To access the users filter, click Show filters on the Users page.

To find all users not part of the organization, filter to see users who are not on a team and do not have a login. Then, filter by email addresses and alias emails. Once you have filtered for users not part of the organization, you can easily hide them. You can also set a filter to include undisclosed users in the list since they may also be users whose user information you need to view. 

Note: An undisclosed user is one whose email address is not provided when the githost is integrated with Flow. This can happen when a user’s account or email address is private.

To filter for users who are not on a team and do not have a login:

  1. Select [Users on teams] [is] [false] to hide all users not on teams.

  2. Click Add filter and select [and] in the boolean.

  3. Select [Has login] [is] [false] to exclude all users with logins

  4. Click Add filter and select [and] in the boolean.

  5. In the first filter, exclude users with your company’s email domain by setting [Email] [does not contain] [email domain here]  

  6. Click Add filter to add a filter and select [and] in the boolean.

  7. In the new filter, select [Alias email] [does not contain] [email domain here].  This excludes users who have an alias with your company’s email domain. 

  8. To hide undisclosed users, click Add filter and select [and] in the boolean.
  9. In the new filter, select [Email][contains case insensitive][undisclosed].

Note: Users who are already hidden will not appear in these filters. 

Once your filter settings are complete, click Apply filters. Next, scroll down to the users list to hide users. 

back to top


Hide users

Once you apply the filter for users who are not part of the organization, you can hide them. Depending on the number of users, filtering could take around a minute.

To hide these users:

  1. Click Select all pages. This selects all users on all pages.

  2. Next, click the Actions dropdown. 

  3. Click hide selected users

  4. Use the pop up to verify you want to hide these users. 

back to top


Hiding users with your organization's email domain

You may have users that are no longer part of your organization but still have the company email domain. 

To filter for these users:

  1. Navigate to the users filter

  2. In the filter, select [Users on teams] [is] [false]. This filters for all users not on teams.

  3. Click Add filter and select [and] in the boolean.

  4. In the filter, select [Has login] [is] [false]. This excludes all users with logins.

  5. Click Add filter and select [and] in the boolean.

  6. In the filter, select [Last activity at] [is before] [select the date]. This filters for all users who’s most recent activity is before the date you selected.

  7. Click Apply filter

For this filter, make sure all users who are part of your organization are on a team, even if they do not contribute code. We recommend only hiding users without activity for 12 months so any annual reports will still include these users’ contributions.

Once you have filtered for users who are no longer part of your organization but still have the company email domain, you are ready to hide them.

To hide these users:

  1. Click Select all pages

  2. Click the Action dropdown.

  3. Click hide selected users

  4. Use the confirmation modal to verify you want to hide these users. 

back to top


How do I view hidden users?

To view hidden users, navigate to the Hidden users page by clicking Hidden users on the Users page.

back to top


How do I unhide users?

To unhide users, select the users you want to unhide and click Unhide. You will see a confirmation modal. 

In the confirmation modal, toggle to include the users you are unhiding in metrics. This applies to all users you’re unhiding. 

Note: Hiding a user who is on a team removes the user from that team. If you unhide the user, you will need to manually add the user back to the team. Learn more about how to create teams.

back to top


How do I re-enable a user’s login?

Hiding a user removes a user’s login. If you accidentally disable a user’s login, you can re-enable their login by unhiding them from the Hidden users page. 

To re-enable access for a hidden user:

  1. From the Hidden users page, select the user whose access you want to enable. 

  2. Click Unhide.

  3. A pop up will appear asking to verify unhiding a user. Select the Re-enable sign in toggle to re-enable access. 

Note: When unhiding multiple users at once, you may want to re-enable the login for only some of those users. You can unhide them separately or toggle off the Re-enable sign in option using the confirmation modal. If you toggle off the re-enable login option, go to the user’s detail page and click Enable Flow access to re-enable the user’s login.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.