How does Flow handle deleted branches?

Tags: Flow

Flow uses Git to understand your commit data.

Since Git offers a lot of flexibility and the history can be re-written, there can be discrepancies between what you see in your Git host and what you see in Flow.

Let's look at a few common examples:

Who can use this?

 Core
Plus
 
  

 

Commits are merged into the main branch and the feature branch is deleted

Typically, engineers work on a feature branch, then merge their changes into a stable main branch. Once they merge their work into the main branch, they delete the feature branch.

The orange and gray circles indicate commits that show up in Flow reports on any given day. In this example, Commit A shows up in Flow calculations and reports only once, regardless of which branch it belongs to:

Commits aren't merged and the branch is deleted

Sometimes an engineer’s work on a feature branch never merges with the main branch. If the feature branch is deleted before merging into the main branch, that feature branch’s commits are also deleted and will not appear in Flow.

In the example below, after the feature branch is deleted, Flow no longer includes Commit A in any of the reports.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.