Managing plan admins

Tags: Skills

As a plan admin on a team plan, you can add additional plan admins to fit the needs of your organization.

This article shows you how to manage plan admins right in the Skills platform. However, if you’re managing large organizations with multiple admins, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:     
Admins:  


Adding plan admins

You can assign the role of plan admin to existing Skills users, or invite new users and add them as admins.

Adding existing users

  1. Click the Admins tab on the People page.
  2. Click Add new admin.
  3. Use the default tab Designate from account.
  4. Select one or more existing users to assign as admins. As you type in the search bar, names of existing users will appear for you to select.
  5. Click Add admin.

Note: Names of users on your plan who are already set as plan admins will not appear in the search results.

Inviting new users

  1. Click the Admins tab on the People page.
  2. Click Add new admin.
  3. Click the Invite new tab.
  4. Add the email address of each plan admin you wish to invite.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Select any Skills license(s) you wish to assign. You can always change this later—see Managing admin licenses, below.
  7. Click Add admin.

Tip: When adding multiple admins at once, each will be assigned the same Skills license(s), if selected. If you wish to assign them unique license settings, repeat the steps above for each admin individually instead. Or you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error.

back to top


Removing plan admins

Note: The following will happen when you remove a plan admin:

  • The admin’s Skills license(s) and teams manager permissions (if any) will remain unchanged.
  • If the admin does not have a Skills license assigned to them AND is not assigned to manage any teams, they will be removed from your plan.
  • If the admin is removed from the plan, their Pluralsight account will remain intact, including their course history, profile settings, and any personal channels they have created. If, in the future, you re-invite them to the plan, they join another organization’s team plan, or they get their own individual subscription, they will retain access to their account, as long as they still have access to one of the email addresses associated with it. For this reason, we recommend that users add a personal email in addition to their primary email address.

For additional information on what happens when a user is removed from a plan, see Pluralsight Skills Individual Accounts and Business Plans.

To remove a plan admin:

  1. Click the Admins tab on the People page.
  2. Click the X in the Remove column for any plan admin you wish to remove.
  3. Click Remove admin in the confirmation popup that appears.

back to top


Managing admin licenses

Plan admins don’t need a Skills license to manage their team or curate content in channels. But without a license, they can’t watch content.

You can add or remove Skills licenses from plan admins as needed.

  1. Click the Admins tab on the People page.
  2. Find the plan admin in the list.
  3. Check the License toggle to see if they’re currently assigned a license.
  4. Switch the License toggle on or off as needed.

The Directory tab on the People page shows how many licenses you have available to assign. See Adding and removing licenses if you need to purchase more.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.