Managing team managers

Tags: Skills

Plan admins on a team plan can assign team managers to teams of users and help drive success across the organization. You can set the permission level for your team managers globally across your plan, and also customize the permissions for each manager.

This article shows you how to manage team managers right in the Skills platform. However, if you’re managing large organizations with multiple team managers, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:     
Admins:  


Adding team managers

You can assign the role of team manager to existing Skills users, or invite new users and add them as team managers.

Tip: You can have more than one team manager on a team. Also, users can be managers of more than one team.

Adding existing users

  1. Click the Managers tab on the People page.
  2. Click Add new manager.
  3. Use the default tab Designate from account.
  4. Under Step One, select one or more teams to assign to the manager(s) you’re adding.
  5. Under Step Two, select one or more existing users to assign as managers. As you type in the search bar, names of existing users will appear for you to select.
  6. Under Step Three, set the permission level for each new manager. See Setting permission levels below for more information.
  7. Click Add manager.

Tips:

  • All teams with a caret beside the team name are parent teams. You can click the caret to expand or hide the child teams.
  • With large team structures, the team you're looking for may be buried under multiple nested teams. If you can't see the team you're looking for in the hierarchy, you can type part of its name in the search bar. Once you find it, you can select or deselect it, expand its child teams (if applicable), and then continue searching and selecting additional teams.
  • When adding multiple managers at once, each will be assigned to the same team(s). If you wish to assign them unique teams, repeat the steps above for each manager individually instead. Or you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error.

Inviting new users

  1. Click the Managers tab on the People page.
  2. Click Add new manager.
  3. Click the Invite new tab.
  4. Under Step One, select one or more teams to assign to the manager(s) you’re adding.
  5. Under Step Two, add the email address of each manager you wish to invite.
  6. Under Step Three, set the permission level for each new manager. See Setting permission levels below for more information.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select any Skills license(s) you wish to assign. You can always change this later—see Managing manager licenses, below.
  9. Click Add manager.

Tips:

  • All teams with a caret beside the team name are parent teams. You can click the caret to expand or hide the child teams.
  • With large team structures, the team you're looking for may be buried under multiple nested teams. If you can't see the team you're looking for in the hierarchy, you can type part of its name in the search bar. Once you find it, you can select or deselect it, expand its child teams (if applicable), and then continue searching and selecting additional teams.
  • When adding multiple managers at once, each will be assigned to the same team(s) and will be assigned the same Skills license(s), if selected. If you wish to assign them unique teams or license settings, repeat the steps above for each manager individually instead. Or you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error.

back to top


Removing team managers

Note: The following will happen when you remove a team manager:

  • The manager's Skills license(s) and admin permissions (if any) will remain unchanged.
  • If the manager does not have a license assigned to them AND is not assigned to manage any other team (or if you remove them from all teams) AND is not a plan admin, they will be removed from your plan.
  • If the manager is removed from the plan, their Pluralsight account will remain intact, including their course history, profile settings, and any personal channels they have created. If, in the future, you re-invite them to the plan, they join another organization’s team plan, or they get their own individual subscription, they will retain access to their account, as long as they still have access to one of the email addresses associated with it. For this reason, we recommend that users add a personal email in addition to their primary email address.

For additional information on what happens when a user is removed from a plan, see Pluralsight Skills Individual Accounts and Business Plans.

Removing managers from a single team

  1. Click the Teams tab on the People page.
  2. Click the ••• options menu for the desired team.
  3. Click Remove manager.
  4. Select one or more managers you want to remove.
  5. Click Remove manager.

Removing managers from all teams

  1. Click the Managers tab on the People page.
  2. Click the X in the Remove column for any manager you wish to remove.
  3. Click Remove manager in the confirmation popup that appears.

back to top


Setting permission levels

You can set the global permission level for all managers on your plan. You can also set custom permission levels for each manager individually.

Team managers do not have access to the billing page, billing details, or the organization tab on the People page.

Setting the global permission level

  1. Click the Managers tab on the People page.
  2. Click Configure.
  3. Set the permission level and each of the settings that follow.
  4. Click Save.

Setting custom permission levels

You can set custom permission levels when assigning new managers (see above). To edit existing managers’ permission levels, see Managing users via CSV.

Comparing permission levels

Team managers can have Basic, Limited, or Full permissions:

PrivilegeBasicLimitedFull
View their teams
View analytics and reporting for users on their teams
Edit the team name for their teams 
Edit the email address and note for users on their teams, as well as the unassigned group 
Move users between their teams and the unassigned group 
Invite users to the plan by inviting the user to either the manager's team(s) or the unassigned group  
Remove users from the plan that are on their team or in the unassigned group  

You can also adjust the following additional settings when setting the global permission level:

  • Hide user skill levels from managers
  • Hide non-team members in Directory
  • Hide license dashboard from Manager views
  • Disable manager invite emails when they're assigned to teams

back to top


Managing manager licenses

Team managers don’t need a Skills license to manage their team or curate content in channels. But without a license, they can’t watch content.

You can add or remove Skills licenses from managers as needed.

  1. Click the Managers tab on the People page.
  2. Find the manager in the list.
  3. Check the License toggle to see if they’re currently assigned a license.
  4. Switch the License toggle on or off as needed.

The Directory tab on the People page shows how many licenses you have available to assign. See Adding and removing licenses if you need to purchase more.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.