Managing teams

Tags: Skills

You can organize your learners into teams, allowing team managers to view reports and analytics for the learners on their teams.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:  (✓)(✓)(✓)
Admins:  
(✓) May be available depending
on your permission settings


Overview

Skills allows you to create simple, single-level team structures ideal for smaller organizations. For larger organizations, you have the flexibility to create nested teams that mirror your organization’s team structure, allowing a richer management and reporting experience.

This article shows you how to create and edit teams right in the Skills platform. However, if you’re managing large organizations with dozens of teams, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and reduce human error. You can also automate team creation and nesting via Pluralsight's GraphQL APIs.

Tip: Both managers and learners can be assigned to more than one team.

back to top


Creating teams

  1. Click the Teams tab on the People page.
  2. Click New Team.
  3. Type the team name.

Note:

  • This must be a unique name and cannot already exist in your plan.
  • Team names must be between 2 and 200 characters.
  • Team names can include unicode special characters.
  1. Click Create team.

A new team appears alphabetically within the hierarchy. You can move it to a parent team, or create more child teams to nest beneath it.

Tip: The Directory and Unassigned tabs also have an option to create a new team from the Actions drop-down menu.

back to top


Nesting teams

You can nest your teams to create a multi-level team structure that more closely resembles how your organization works. A Parent team is a team that has other teams nested beneath it. The teams nested under the parent team are called child teams.

You can nest as many teams as you would like in your hierarchy of parent and child teams. You can assign a team manager or multiple managers to each team as desired. Using nested teams increases your ability to delegate to your managers and gives them deeper insights from the analytics available in Skills.

Tip: If you're a team manager on a parent team, you can see the people and analytics of all users on the teams you manage, along with any of their child teams.

There are two ways to nest teams from the Skills platform:

  • Drag and drop
  • Actions drop-down menu

Drag and drop

Use this option if you want to move one team at a time.

  1. Click the Teams tab on the People page.
  2. Hover over the team you want to be a child team, until a vertical dotted bar appears on the left.
  3. Click the bar and drag the team over the team you wish to be its parent, then release.

Note: If the team you move is already a parent team, all its children teams will move with it, becoming grandchildren to the target parent team. All teams with a caret to the left of the team name are parent teams.

Actions drop-down menu

Use this option if you want to move multiple teams to the same parent team.

  1. Click the Teams tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each team you want to move.

Tip: All teams with a caret to the left of the team name are parent teams. You can click the caret to expand or hide the child teams. However, any child teams will be moved along with their parent team and become grandchildren to the destination team, regardless of whether or not they are selected here.

  1. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  2. Click Move selected teams.
  3. Select the desired parent team.

Tip: With large team structures, the team you're looking for may be buried under multiple nested teams. If you can't see the team you're looking for in the hierarchy, you can type part of its name in the search bar. Once you find it, you can select or deselect it, and expand its child teams, if applicable.

If you want to unnest the teams completely and move them to the highest level of the hierarchy, check the Unnest team(s) box.

  1. Click Move teams.

back to top


Removing teams

  1. Click the Teams tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each team you want to remove.

Tip: All teams with a caret to the left of the team name are parent teams. You can click the caret to expand or hide the child teams. You can also click Select nested or Deselect nested for speed and accuracy in the inclusion of child teams.

  1. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  2. Click Remove selected teams.
  3. Review the confirmation popup window. You can click the X next to any team that you do NOT want to remove, or click No, cancel to abort.
  4. When you’re ready to proceed, click Remove teams.

The following will happen when you remove a team:

  • If the removed team has any child teams that you did NOT select for removal, the child teams will remain intact—along with all their assigned users—and will move up one level in the team structure.
  • If a removed team has any users directly assigned to it, they will become unassigned users. This means they’ll remain on the plan and their Pluralsight account will remain unchanged—they just won’t be assigned to a team. You can either move them to a different team before you remove the team, or find them in the Unassigned tab of the People page afterwards.

back to top


Assigning learners to teams

Unassigned learners

Learners who have not been assigned to a team are listed on the Unassigned tab.

  1. Click the Unassigned tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each learner you want to assign to the same team(s).
  3. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  4. Click Assign to team(s).
  5. Select one or more teams.

Tip: With large team structures, the team you're looking for may be buried under multiple nested teams. If you can't see the team you're looking for in the hierarchy, you can type part of its name in the search bar. Once you find it, you can select or deselect it, and expand its child teams, if applicable.

  1. Click Assign.

Assigned learners

Learners who are already assigned to one or more teams are listed on the Directory tab.

  1. Click the Directory tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each learner you want to assign to the same team(s).
  3. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  4. Click Move to team(s).
  5. Select one or more teams.

Important: This will remove the learners from any teams they’re currently assigned to. To prevent this, select all existing teams that you wish them to remain on, plus any additional teams.

For example, a user is currently assigned to Team A, Team B, and Team C. You want to remove them from Team C, but add them to Team D. Select Team A, Team B, and Team D before proceeding to the next step.

  1. Click Assign.

back to top


Removing learners from teams

You can remove learners from one or more assigned teams, or from all assigned teams.

Removing learners from select teams

  1. Click the Directory tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each learner you want to remove from—and keep assigned to—the same team(s).

Important: All learners that you group together in this step will end up assigned to the same remaining teams. If this is not what you wish, perform this operation for each learner (or group of learners) individually.

  1. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  2. Click Move to team(s).
  3. Select all existing teams that you wish the learners to remain on. Do not select any existing teams you wish to remove them from.
  4. Click Assign.

Removing learners from all teams

  1. Click the Directory tab on the People page.
  2. Check the box next to each learner you want to unassign.
  3. Click the Actions drop-down menu.
  4. Click Remove from all teams.
  5. On the confirmation popup, click Remove from all teams.

These learners will become unassigned learners. This means they’ll remain on the plan and their Pluralsight account will remain unchanged—they just won’t be assigned to a team. You can find them in the Unassigned tab of the People page afterwards.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.