Managing users via CSV

Tags: Skills

You can bulk manage your plan users via CSV (comma-separated values file) upload.

 

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:     
Admins:  


Overview

You can manage the users on your plan right in the Skills platform.

However, if you’re managing large organizations, you can use a CSV upload to simplify the process and avoid drag-and-drop human error.

back to top


Adding new users

Whether you’re just starting to set up users in Skills or wanting to add new users to your plan, you can use a CSV template to add them. You can add learners, team managers, and plan admins during the same upload.

  1. Open this Directory CSV template in your spreadsheet program and save a copy of it.
  2. Do not alter or reorder the column names.
  3. Populate the following columns of the spreadsheet for each new user, using one row per user:
    • PlanUserId: Leave this blank when adding new users.
    • Email: Enter the primary email address.
    • Note: If desired, enter an employee ID or other identifier.
    • Teams: If desired, enter one or more teams to assign the user to. Separate multiple teams with a semicolon, if applicable.
    • IsAdmin: Enter “TRUE” to make the new user an admin; enter “FALSE” or leave blank otherwise.
    • IsManager: Enter “TRUE” to make the new user a team manager; enter “FALSE” or leave blank otherwise. If you enter “TRUE”, you must also complete the TeamsManaged field.
    • ManagerPermission: If the user will be a team manager, enter their permission level, or leave this blank to use the plan’s default permission level. Choices include “Basic”, “Limited”, or “Full”. See Managing team managers to learn about each of these permission levels. Leave this blank if not applicable (not a manager).
    • TeamsManaged: If the user will be a team manager, enter one or more teams they will manage. Separate multiple teams with a semicolon, if applicable. Leave this blank if not applicable (not a manager).
    • HasSkillsLicense: Enter “TRUE” to assign the user a Skills license; enter “FALSE” or leave blank otherwise. If both the IsAdmin and IsManager fields are “FALSE” or blank (i.e., for a standard learner), this field must be “TRUE” for the user to be added to the plan.
    • AddOnLicenseTypes: If you have purchased labs add-on licenses that you wish to assign, enter “Labs”. Leave this blank otherwise.
    • Action: If you wish to send an automated invitation to the new user, enter “Invite”. Leave this blank otherwise.
  4. Follow the instructions below to import your completed CSV.

Tips:

  • Manager permission: To find your current manager permission level, click Configure on the Managers tab of the People page.
  • Skills license: Plan admins and team managers don’t need a Skills license to manage their team or curate content in channels. But without a license, they can’t watch content. Licenses can be assigned later, if needed.
  • Add-on licenses: Add-on licenses must be purchased before they can be assigned. You can find any add-ons available to your plan, including number of available licenses, on the Plan tab of your Account page. The spelling of the add-on licenses must exactly match what is found on the Plan tab.
  • Batch size: Limit your CSV to 1,000 rows for a successful upload. If you need to add more than 1,000 rows, upload multiple CSVs.

back to top


Editing or removing existing users

If you already have users set up in Skills, you can download a CSV of all users on your plan, make your edits, and then upload your edited CSV to the platform.

  1. On the Directory tab of the People page., click the Download users icon.
  2. Click Download all users in CSV import template.
  1. Save the CSV file as a backup in case you need to revert to the original state. We recommend adding “original” and a date/time stamp to the filename for easy identification.
  2. Make a copy of the file with a unique filename. This is the copy you’ll use to make your edits and, eventually, import back into Skills.
  3. See the respective instructions below to edit users or remove users.
  4. When finished, follow the instructions below to import your completed CSV.

Tips:

  • When importing, Skills will only update users (rows) that have been modified from the CSV you downloaded—and that include “Update” or "Remove" in the Action column.
  • Skills will ignore the following:
    • Blank cells
    • Cells with no changes
    • Rows that you remove entirely
    • Rows that do not include “Update” or "Remove" in the Action column
  • To help reduce human error and ensure that Skills will ignore them, we recommend:
    • Deleting the contents of any cells that you do not wish to modify
    • Deleting any entire rows that you do not wish to modify
  • For example, if you’re updating a user’s team, the only columns that you need to populate are PlanUserID, Team, and Action.

Editing users

  • Do not alter or reorder the column names.
  • Do not alter or delete the value in the PlanUserId column. This is a system-generated field used to uniquely identify a user.
  • You can edit any of the following fields. See Adding new users above for descriptions of these fields.
    • Email
    • Note
    • Teams
    • IsAdmin
    • IsManager
    • ManagerPermission
    • TeamsManaged
    • HasSkillsLicense
    • AddOnLicenseTypes
  • Enter “Update” in the Action column for each user (row) you have modified.

Tip: To remove a user from all assigned teams, enter “Unassign” in the Teams column.

Removing users

  • Do not alter or reorder the column names.
  • Do not alter or delete the value in the PlanUserId column. This is a system-generated field used to uniquely identify a user.
  • Enter “Remove” in the Action column for any users you wish to remove from the plan.

Note: The following will happen when you remove a user:

  • The user will be removed from your plan.
  • The user will lose their Skills license and any add-on licenses—along with any admin or manager permissions—they were assigned under your plan.
  • Any licenses they had been assigned—with the exception of non-transferrable certification add-ons—will be returned to your bank of unassigned licenses.
  • Admins and managers on your plan will lose visibility to some analytics data for the removed users. See How analytics data follows learners to learn more.
  • The user’s Pluralsight account will remain intact, including their course history, profile settings, and any personal channels they have created. If, in the future, you re-invite them to the plan, they join another organization’s team plan, or they get their own individual subscription, they will retain access to their account—as long as they still have access to one of the email addresses associated with it. For this reason, we recommend that users add a personal email in addition to their primary email address.

For additional information on what happens when a user is removed from a plan, see Pluralsight Skills Individual Accounts and Business Plans.

back to top


Importing your CSV

Whether adding, editing, or removing users, you must upload your CSV when you’re done with your edits.

  1. After editing your CSV file, save your changes and close it.
  2. On the Directory tab of the People page. page, click Import CSV.
  3. Click Choose file and navigate to and select your CSV file.
  4. Click Upload to import your file.

See the next section to learn how to confirm your upload.

back to top


Confirming your upload

When you upload your CSV, Skills will automatically download a confirmation CSV showing you the results of the upload. Check the Message column of the confirmation CSV to make sure the changes to each row were successful.

If the Message column contains “Success”, the respective row was updated successfully.

Any other value in this column indicates a failure for that row. An error in any column will result in failure for the entire row—no partial changes will be made.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.