How do I invite someone to a business plan?

Tags: Skills

Pluralsight Skills plan admins and team managers can add learners to team plans. You can send invites through automated email or share an invitation link.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:  
Admins:  


Invite learners to a team plan automatically

  1. As a plan admin or team manager, from your leader tools dashboard (opens in new tab), click Add New User.
  2. Enter the learner’s desired email addresses in the email address field.
    Alternatively, you can copy and paste the email addresses from a file.
  3. Optional: Type in the desired team from the Assign to a team text box.
  4. Click Send licenses. You can also see a preview of the email the learners will get.

Note: You can also invite a learner to any level of a nested team.

back to top


This method allows people who have an email address at a certain domain to automatically get added to your plan. All they need is a link. You can have more than one email domain registered. Here's how to set this up:

  1. Click the People link in the left pane navigation.
  2. Click Invite new user.
  3. Click Share a link instead?.
  4. Type the desired email domain in the Domain field. In this example, @pluralsight.com is the email domain.
  5. Copy and paste the link into a message in your organization’s email provider, and send the email to the learners you want to invite to the plan.
What it looks like with a registered email domain to allow your users to automatically join your business plan.

Tip: You cannot enter a note when inviting learners. Notes can be entered for a learner after the invitation is sent.

Note: This article does not cover the third method of distributing licenses, which is through SSO or LTI. For assistance with this, please contact Pluralsight Support (opens email form) or your sales representative.

back to top


Monitor invitation acceptance

Pending invites are invites you have sent, but have not yet been accepted by the user. While an invite is pending, a license is reserved for that user. This reserved license reduces the number of licenses you have available on your team plan.

To reassign the license of a pending invite, you must cancel the pending invite and invite the user you want to have the license.

Available to plan admins and team managers

On the People page (opens in new tab), click the Pending Invites tab. Here, you can see a list of learners that have not accepted their invitations. You can cancel or resend pending invitations from this page.

Note: The expired invites will not clear out automatically. Plan admins must manually reinvite a user or send an invite to another user.

Available to plan admins only

To see who has joined the team plan, click Log (opens in new tab) in your leader tools left-hand navigation. The log contains information about license redemption, plan renewals, and team creation, as well as learners who’ve left the plan.

back to top


Organize learners in a nested team

To customize your people organization, you can nest the teams you create in Skills. This means that if you created an Engineering team and a Technology team, and Engineering is part of Technology in your company, you can nest the Engineering team under the Technology team.

Creating parent and child teams helps you organize your learners in a way that more closely resembles how your organization works. It will also give you more flexibility when it comes to viewing and filtering analytics, as well as assigning managers to oversee your teams.

See Nesting teams for more information.

back to top


Possible scenarios and how to troubleshoot them

My learner got their email, why can’t they log in?

We sometimes hear from learners who don’t realize they need to click the Accept Invite button in the email. This also applies for managers and plan admins.

Until the learner clicks the Accept Invite button in their invitation email, they haven’t joined the plan. Additionally, learners may have different error experiences after clicking Accept Invite based on:

  • License availability
  • If the learner is part of another team plan
  • If the invite was not found
  • If the learner has an individual subscription

For an explanation of what happens when learners click Accept Invite in the above scenarios, see our article on accepting team plan invitations.

My learner already has a subscription. What do I do?

You can follow the same invitation process. When they get their email and click the link to create an account, they'll have the option to continue with their existing login information. 

In some scenarios, they'll get prompted to contact Support. We have 24/7 support that will get back to your learner to help them cancel their existing subscription and, if applicable, get a refund so they can join your team plan.

Please note that we cannot cancel an individual’s subscription except at the individual’s request. Plan admins and team managers cannot request that an individual’s subscription get canceled.

My learner already had an account or subscription, and now they’ve made a new account accepting an invitation.

We cannot combine or merge two accounts. Please have them contact Pluralsight Support (opens email form). We can assist with this deletion and re-invitation process.

In the future, feel free to share the correct way to accept an invitation for this scenario, which avoids making two accounts for one person.

The link in the invitation email doesn’t work.

There are two reasons your invite link may not work:

  • You've already used the link to redeem your license
  • You are using an expired link

If you already redeemed the invite, make sure you are logging in through the Pluralsight login page (opens in new tab).

You might be using an expired link. Invitations expire 15 days after they were sent. An invite reminder is automatically sent within the 15 day expiration date. After the expiration period, the plan admin or team manager will need to resend the invitation.

The first automatic invite reminder is sent 7 days after the original invite was not accepted.

If your invite has expired, ask your plan admin or team manager to send an invite to the team plan.

Note: As long as the invitation has not reached the 15 day expiration period, you can use any invite or reminder email to redeem the invitation.

My learner didn’t get an invitation email.

If your learner did not receive your invitation, please take these steps:

  1. Ask your learner to check their spam folder for emails from admin@pluralsight.com.
  2. Please make sure you do not have any rules that would route emails from admin@pluralsight.com to your spam folder or immediately delete the email. See our allowlist article for more information.
  3. Confirm that your learner was invited to the plan.
  4. If you haven’t been able to locate the email, please contact Pluralsight Support (opens email form) with the learner’s name and email address so we can send your learner the invitation link.

Alternatively, in your left-pane navigation, click the People link, and click the Pending Invites tab.

In the list of learners on the Pending Invites page, you’ll find the Invite Link icon for learners who haven’t accepted invitations yet. Click the icon to copy the invitation URL. You can send your learners their respective invitation URLs, without having to send an email through Pluralsight.

My learner got this error: "Oops! Looks like there's a problem..."

Here are possible causes for this error:

  • They’ve already accepted your invitation and they’re trying to sign in again using the invitation link.
  • Their invitation was issued more than 15 days ago.
    • Solution: Ask the internal plan admin or team manager to reissue the invitation. Invitation links expire after 15 days.
  • The internal plan admin or team manager canceled the invitation.
    • Solution: Ask the internal plan admin or team manager to reissue the invitation.
  • The team plan is full.
    • Solution: Try removing licenses from learners who have left the plan. Or, contact your sales representative to add more licenses to your team plan.

My learner got this error: "Sorry! We are unable to set up your company subscription..."

Your learner may get this error if their existing account is tied to another team plan or an active individual subscription, which prevents them from joining the team plan.

Solution: On that same error screen, they can click the Request support button, and they’ll receive an email from Pluralsight Support with instructions for the next steps.

If they’ve already navigated away from the error page, please ask them to contact Pluralsight Support (opens email form).

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.