How to set team managers and their permissions

A team manager is a level of access that lets a user manage a certain group of learners. While a team manager with basic permissions can only view data about their learners, a plan admin can grant a team manager even more permissions. 

How do I add a team manager?

As a plan administrator, you can add team managers to your plan by following these steps. If the user isn’t part of your group plan already, you can invite them to the group plan at the same time.

  1. Click the Organization link in the left pane navigation menu.
  2. In the Teams list, click the team name, or create a new team.
  3. Click the Add button in the Team Manager section.
  4. View the team manager invitation screen.

If the user is already on your group plan, enter their name in the Name field and click the Designate manager button.

If the user isn't on your group plan, click the Invite someone new link to send a team manager invitation. 

Note: This process doesn’t assign the user a license. The user can’t watch Pluralsight courses until they are granted a license, but they can view learner analytics and see learners on their team. Learn how to grant licenses.

Tip: You can have more than one team manager on a team. Also, users can be managers of more than one team.

How do I remove a team manager?

To remove a team manager from your group plan, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Organization link in the left pane navigation menu.
  2. Click the team name.
  3. Click the X icon next to the name of the manager.

What are the permissions levels for team managers, and how do I set them?

As a plan administrator, you can choose the permissions level for team managers on your plan. The permissions are applied to all team managers on the plan. Permissions can't be configured on a manager-by-manager basis.

To set permissions for the team managers on your plan:

  1. Click the Account link in the left pane navigation menu.
  2. Click the Administrators tab. 
  3. At the top of the Team managers section, click the Configure link.
  4. Select the permissions level.
  5. Click the Save button.

Team managers on your plan can have Basic, Limited, or Full permissions:

BasicLimitedFull

Basic permissions, plus:
Limited permissions, plus:
View their teams

Edit the team name for their teams
Invite users to their teams and the unassigned group
View analytics and reporting for users on their teams
Edit the email address and note for users on their teams, as well as the unassigned group
Delete users on their teams and the unassigned group

Move users between their teams and the unassigned group

Learn more about what a team manager can see in analytics compared to a plan admin.

Tip: If your group plan includes mentoring for business, Full permissions also gives team managers the ability to toggle mentoring access for learners on their teams and the unassigned group.