Setting up roles

Tags: Flow

Flow's roles and permissions options determine what users can view and do within Flow. Learn more about permissions.


Setting up roles

To view your organization’s current roles:

  1. Click Settings in Flow’s top navigation bar.
  2. In the left navigation under User Management, click Role management.

When you first set up Flow, Flow creates four default roles. Use these to get started and customize additional roles later.

These are Flow's default roles:

  • Admin: Admins can view all teams’ data and team members’ data. This role is for users that need access to all parts of Flow. We recommend giving this role to only one or two people.
  • Executive: Executives can see all teams’ data but not team members’ data. We recommend giving this role to users interested in organization level metrics like Investment profile.
  • Team lead: Team leads can see only their own teams’ data and their members' data. The team lead role is for team managers who can see all reports and have permissions needed to manage their users and teams.
  • Team member: Team members can see their own teams’ data, but not their members’ data. They can see all reports, but can't change configurations.

You can set up your own default role and edit any of the existing roles in your account.

To add a new role:

  1. Click New role.
  2. In the Create role modal, give your new role a name.
  3. Give users with this role access to reports, management permissions, and APIs.
  4. Click Save.

You can designate a role as the default role for invitees. Flow assigns the default role to any new user added to your account.

Tip: If you have multiple default roles set, each new user will automatically be given all default roles.

To make a role a default role:

  1. Click the box next to the role you want to designate as the default.
  2. In the Actions dropdown, click Make default.
  3. Click Yes, make default to confirm your default role. That role now appears as your default role in the roles list.

back to top


Can I give a user a role and grant them additional permissions?

A user automatically inherits all permissions from the role you assign them, but you also can grant individual users additional permissions.

Note: To permanently grant a user additional permissions, assign those permissions to the user's role, not the user. Granting the permissions to the user is temporary and those permissions will not be available the next time they log in.

back to top


How do I see what permissions are granted to a role?

To view the accessible reports and permissions associated with a role:

  1. Click Settings in Flow’s top navigation bar.
  2. In the left navigation under User Management, click Role management.
  3. For any report, hover over its result in the Report Access, Management Access, or API Access columns to view a detailed list of what's accessible to that role.

back to top


If you need help, please contact Pluralsight Support.