Setting up view rights

Tags: Flow

Overview

This help document explains the mechanics of how to setup your organization’s view rights within the app. If you do not know what the the different view rights are, we recommend you start with the types of view rights to gain a better understanding of the different options available.

Where can I set view rights?

Within the app you can set view rights at the following levels:

  1. Organization defaults
  2. Role (Advanced setup recommended with SAML connection only)
  3. User
  4. Team

How are the view rights structured?

As with many permissions structures, view rights use a waterfall system that inherits from the permission settings above it — which can be overridden at each level for full control.

1. Default view rights set by organization

To set your organization's default view rights, you need the Manage organization permission.

Under the Settings menu click Role management, then Set default view rights.  From here, you can set the view rights that every member of your organization will be granted—unless you explicitly set a new view right value on a user’s role, user or team. 

2. Roles: advanced view rights

Tip: If you are configuring view rights manually without SAML, we recommend you ignore this and assign view rights by users and teams only.

Clicking on Enable advanced view rights unlocks the role level view rights. Only turn this on if you are using GitPrime with a SAML integration.

You can assign different templates of view rights and report access within the tab (i.e. managers, executives, team members, etc). This allows you to quickly select a preset group of view rights to users with that role.

3. Users

To override the specific view rights of an individual user, locate and click on the individual from the Users page. 


On the User detail page locate the View rights tab to adjust these settings.


4. Teams 

There are two final customizations you can make at the team level view right.

  • Adjust whether members of a team see individual contributors metrics.


  • Make team members a “Contributor” or “Viewer”.  


Contributor vs. Viewer

By default, anyone you add to a team will be a “Contributor". This means they are being used for calculations in your analytics. 

If want to grant someone visibility to a team’s data, but they should be excluded from calculations (e.g. they do not contribute code), it is important you change their membership to “Viewer”, otherwise they will skew your metrics calculations!

Viewing across multiple teams

Anyone with permissions to view multiple teams will inherit the rules their organization, role or user provides them with. If you want change their level of visibility for a specific team that they are part of, you can set this at the team level.

For example: If management agrees that they want to see their fellow manager's team level statistics, but none of the individual contributor metrics, you should grant managers the ability to see either "All Teams" or "Their Own Teams", but not the ability to see individual contributors metrics. Then, for teams they are directly responsible for, "level up" their permissions so that they can see individual contributors metrics.


A word of caution:

If you decide to manually change permissions aside from the organization defaults, proceed with caution. Combining overrides in roles, user, and team view rights can be complex and difficult to track manually. It is highly recommended you connect via SSO/SAML.

In addition, consider creating a test user first and experiment with the view rights so you understand the permissions changes you are making.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.