Managing user details

Tags: Flow

You can manage associated aliases, view and manage team membership, view and manage user's view rights, view and edit user's associated roles, manage user's access to reports, and administrative permissions and API access.

Who can use this?

 Core
Plus
 
  

 

Access each user’s details from the Users page. Search for a user, then click on their name to view their user details. View the user’s name, email, start date, and Flow access status at the top of the user’s page. Manage the user’s Flow access, hide the user, and include the user in metrics.


Manage user Flow access

Some Flow users have login access to Flow while others do not. You can see a user’s Flow access status as an icon next to their name. Users with a green check by the name have an active flow login. Users with a red X do not have Flow access. Users with a grey check mark used to have Flow access but the access is currently disabled.

To disable Flow access, click Disable Flow access

To enable Flow access, click Enable Flow access. This is for users with a Flow login or who had a Flow login in the past. 

Click Invite user to sign in for users without a Flow login. 

The user’s Flow access status also influences the tabs available on their user page. Users with Flow access have all tabs available: aliases, teams, roles, view rights, access, and groups. Users without Flow access have three tabs: aliases, teams, and groups.

back to top


Edit profile

If you are a user, navigate to Account settings to edit  your name, profile image, and email address. Learn about editing your Profile. Learn more about editing your email

Admins can edit a user’s start date on the user’s page. Click Edit profile to edit the start date of the user.

back to top


Hide user

You can hide a user from their details page. To hide a user, click Hide user. You can hide more than one user at once from the Users page. 

Learn more about Hidden users

Learn about the difference between hiding users and excluding users

back to top


Include in metrics

Use the Include in metrics toggle to include or exclude the user in Flow metrics. 

back to top


Manage associated aliases

Under this section the Alias tab, remove or add aliases associated with the user. Learn more about aliases.

  1. Add an alias. If there are missing aliases that should be merged under the user, click Add more aliases. Then use the search bar to locate any additional aliases and add them to the user.
  2. Alias list. This list contains all aliases associated with the user. You can also see what integration the alias was pulled in from.
  3. Unmerge alias. If an alias was incorrectly added to the user, you can remove them by clicking Unmerge.

back to top


Team membership

Under the Teams tab, manage the user's team membership and view rights for each team.

  1. Search for an existing team and add the user to the team.
  2. Adjust the user's team level view rights by team.
  3. For users on a team, select the user's team membership type as viewer or contributor. Learn more about types of view rights
  4. Remove the user from the team.

Tip: You may see Inherit under either view rights field. Inherit means the user inherits the view rights set at the role or organization level. 

back to top


User view rights

Under the view rights tab, manage an individual user’s view rights. You can set what teams the user can see and if they can view those metrics. Under the Which teams can users see by default? drop down, select the user’s ability to view teams by selecting all teams, no teams, or user's teams.  In the Can users see individual users' metrics? drop down, select Yes or No to modify the user’s ability to view the metrics for the team. 

Use the What the user sees diagram to better understand how the selection and changes affect your user’s view rights.

back to top


Roles

Under the Roles tab, you can add or remove a role for the user. Learn more about setting up roles.

To add or remove roles:

  1. To add a role, check the box beside the role and associated view rights you want the user to have.

  2. To remove a role, check the box next to the role you want to remove for the user.

  3.  Click Save changes.  

back to top


Access

The Access tab contains all the user's permissions. These permissions influence what reports they can see, their access to Settings, and what they can manage within Flow, including APIs. These permissions are preset based on the role assigned to the user. 

Note: Only admins can edit their own permissions. If you are not an admin, you need to have the manage users access to edit user permissions.

You can add access if the user's existing roles do not include the access you want for the user. To add access, click the check box next to the access and then click Save changes. To remove access, change the role of the user to one without access. Alternatively, create a new role with a different set of privileges and assign it to the user. 

back to top


Groups

The Groups tab contains the auto created groups where the user participated in group programming. You can see the group’s date of most recent activity and search for users within the groups. 

Learn more about group programming

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.