Using priorities

Tags: Skills

Priorities allow you to align your organization’s skill development to your objectives, accelerate growth, and monitor progress over time.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:     
Admins:    


Overview

Priorities help you and your teams deliver on your technology objectives. Within each priority, you can give your teams context on what skills they need to build in order to achieve those objectives. From there, you can use Pluralsight-curated templates with content and assessments organized in channel groups—or you can build your own.

Priorities provide skill-progress insights for your teams, helping you ensure progress toward your tech goals. As learners begin to develop and assess their skills, you can feel confident your teams can deliver with insight into how skills are progressing over time.

back to top


Accessing priorities

Log in to Skills and click Priorities in the left-hand navigation menu to view the Priorities home page.

back to top


Creating priorities

Go to the Priorities home page and click Create priority. You’ll be guided through a few short steps to create your priority.

First, you'll choose between using a Pluralsight template to create your priority, or starting from scratch.

  • If using a template, you'll have curated channel groups added automatically based on the template you select. You'll still be able to add, remove, or edit these channel groups later, if desired.
  • If starting from scratch, you'll need to add your own channel groups.

Using a template

Step 1: Select type

  1. Select Create from a Pluralsight template.
  2. Click Next.

Step 2: Select template

  1. Select a category.
  2. Select a template within that category. For example, you might choose the "Cloud with AWS" template within the "Modern Infrastructure" category.
  3. Click Next.

Step 3: Add details

  1. Give the priority a Name and a Description.
  2. If applicable, select the Timeline—either as a time range or a calendar deadline.
  3. Set the Visibility to “Restricted” or [your organization's name].
    • If you set the visibility to [your organization's name], it will be visible to your plan’s learners on their channels page under Company priorities.
    • If you set the visibility to “Restricted”, it will only be visible to plan admins on the priorities page.
  4. Click Next.

Step 4: Select goals

  1. Select one or more business goals that your priority will help you meet. Adding these goals will help the people and teams in your organization understand the reason why this is a priority.
  2. Click Next.

Step 5: Review

  1. Look over the details in the summary.
  2. If applicable, click Back if you wish to change anything from a previous step.
  3. Click Create when you’re ready to finalize your selections.

Starting from scratch

Step 1: Select type

  1. Select Create on my own.
  2. Click Next.

Step 2: Add details

  1. Give the priority a Name and a Description.
  2. If applicable, select the Timeline—either as a time range or a calendar deadline.
  3. Set the Visibility to “Restricted” or [your organization's name].
    • If you set the visibility to [your organization's name], it will be visible to your plan’s learners on their channels page under Company priorities.
    • If you set the visibility to “Restricted”, it will only be visible to plan admins on the priorities page.
  4. Click Next.

Step 3: Select goals

  1. Select one or more business goals that your priority will help you meet. Adding these goals will help the people and teams in your organization understand the reason why this is a priority.
  2. Click Next.

Step 4: Review

  1. Look over the details in the summary.
  2. If applicable, click Back if you wish to change anything from a previous step.
  3. Click Create when you’re ready to finalize your selections.

At this point, your custom priority is empty of content. Be sure to customize it by adding channel groups, as explained below.

back to top


Viewing, editing, and customizing priorities

View your priorities

Once you‘ve created one or more priorities, you can click Priorities in the left-hand navigation menu to view the Priorities home page.

Edit a priority

  1. Click Priorities in the left-hand navigation menu to view the Priorities home page.
  2. Click the priority you want to edit.
  3. Click Actions, then click Edit priority.
  4. Make your desired changes to the details you added when creating the priority, including title, description, timeline, and business goals.
  5. Click Save priority to finalize your edits, or Cancel to abort.

Customize a priority

You can customize your priority by adding or removing channel groups. This applies whether you created your priority from a template or started from scratch.

Add channel groups

  1. Click Priorities in the left-hand navigation menu to view the Priorities home page.
  2. Click the priority you want to customize.
  3. Click Actions, then click Add channel group.
  4. Select one or more channel groups.
  5. Click Add to priority to finalize your edits, or Cancel to abort.

Tip: Don’t have any channel groups yet? No worries. Go to the channels page to create your first one. See Organizing your channel for more details.

Remove channel groups

  1. Click Priorities in the left-hand navigation menu to view the Priorities home page.
  2. Click the priority you want to customize.
  3. Click the ••• options menu that appears on the far right side of the channel group you want to remove.
  4. Click Remove channel group.

back to top


Giving learners access to priorities

Once you’ve created priorities, learners on your plan will be able to access them from their channels page. You can direct them to Engaging with priorities to learn more.

You can also make your priorities more visible to your team by inviting them to the channel groups that make up the priority.

  1. Select a priority from the priorities home page.
  2. Select one or more channel groups, or expand a channel group to individually select its child channels.
  3. Click Actions, then Add Members.
  4. Click in the search bar and type to find the team—or individuals—you wish to add. Or select the desired team(s) in the directory.
  5. Set the permission level to can view or can edit.
  6. Click Continue.
  7. Keep Notify members with email checked if you wish to send an automated notification. If desired, you can customize the message they'll receive.
  8. Click Add members.

back to top


Next steps

Once you've created your priorities and shared them with your team, see Measuring progress with priorities to learn how to guide your teams' growth.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.