Introduction to channels

Tags: Skills

You can organize your learning experience—or that of your team—and align it with your organization's goals. Combine courses, paths, and even content outside of Pluralsight to create a custom learning journey.

Who can use this?

 StndPremProEnt
Learners:
Managers:  
Admins:  


What can I do with channels?

Learners can monitor their progress as they complete channel sections, and plan admins and team managers can tap into powerful channels analytics.

By default, all Pluralsight Skills accounts can create a channel and add content to it. 

Add members to channels, set advanced sharing and privacy settings, set objectives for channels, and view analytics. See channel roles and permissions, adding channel members, and channel analytics for more information.

back to top


How can channels help me learn?

Channels help you organize the content you want to learn. Where bookmarks help you save individual pieces of content, channels allow you to collect paths, courses, projects, Skill IQ assessments, and external content such as reference guides. Some users create channels around a topic, such as understanding cloud security; others create channels around a goal, like preparing for a PMP exam.

back to top


Who can use this?

 StndPremProEnt
Learners:  
Managers:  
Admins:  

How can channels help my team learn?

You can skill up your existing team with targeted channels to increase proficiency in certain subjects, such as JavaScript or soft skills. You can also onboard new hires faster by integrating your own organization's content. Plan admins and team managers can label these channels with objectives such as onboarding, switching technology, or skilling up—or create your own custom objectives.

Anyone can create a channel in Skills. And you can add contributors and share a channel company-wide so that your time as a plan admin can be spent on your most important tasks, thereby allowing the managing and creation of channels to experts within your team. 

See our article on channel roles and permissions to learn more.

back to top


What are "my channels" and "company channels?"

When you create a channel (or edit an existing one), you can set the privacy level to “personal” or “company”. Personal channels are only visible to you and others with whom you share a link—or who share the link with you. Company channels, on the other hand, are visible to anyone within your team plan.

The channels home page helps you find the channels you’re looking for by filtering between the following types of channels:

  • My channels are the channels that you’ve joined. This includes channels that you’ve created yourself along with those that have been shared with you, including any company channels you’ve joined.
  • My groups are the personal channel groups you have set up to organize your channels. These channel groups are only visible to you.
  • Archive are channels that you've removed from your active list, without permanently deleting them.
  • Company channels are the channels that have been made visible on your team plan, whether or not you’ve joined them.
  • Below company channels are any Priorities that your organization has set up. Priorities are available on an Enterprise plan, or a Professional plan that has purchased the Priorities add-on. See priorities for leaders or priorities for learners for more information.

back to top


Who can use this?

 StndPremProEnt
Learners:    
Managers:  
Admins:  

How can I manage company channels on multiple plans?

If you’re a team manager or plan admin on more than one team plan, it can be a challenge keeping all your company channels straight. Skills simplifies this for you with the plan switcher.

Use the plan switcher to navigate from one team plan to another. You’ll only see the company channels of the plan you’ve selected.

Can't find a company channel you thought was there? Use the plan switcher to see if it's "hiding" in a different plan.

Create a channel in the wrong plan? It's easy to switch. Open the channel, then click the Edit Channel button. Choose the desired plan from the Select account drop-down choices, then click Done.

Need to copy a channel to another plan? First duplicate the channel, then move it to the other plan using the instructions above. The copied channel is independent of the original and either can be renamed or edited to the needs of their respective plan.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.