Why are there so many users?

Tags: Flow

You may notice you have a lot of users in your users lists and metrics. Typically these users come in from open source libraries. Since we track the origin user of each line of code and look at all historical data, adding a third party library imports those users too. However, they generally don't show up actively in the report views since the code tends to be in your historical data. In this article, we will go over how to manage extra users. 

Note: Users who are not part of your organization and who were imported with an open source repo do not have access to your instance or data. Hiding users does not delete them. 

How to manage active vs. inactive contributors

When you import a repo, all users  who contributed to that repo are imported. Some of these users may no longer actively contribute to that repo. We recommend you exclude or hide the inactive users. To do so, first identify active and inactive users.

How do I see active users?

Use the Recently active users list to view active users. Recently active users is a system team that displays users who contributed in the last 30 days by default. This gives you better insight into current organizational users.  You can enable or disable this team at any time.  

To view active users:

  1. From Settings, navigate to Teams under User Management.

  2. Select the Recently active users team in the teams list.

Make sure your active users are part of your organization and on teams. You may see users, for example managers, who should be on teams but do not contribute. You can exclude them from metrics.

Next, use the users list to find the users you want to exclude or hide.

Should I exclude or hide users?

Excluding users or hiding users is based on the type of user and what you need to see. 


Which users?What happens?
Exclude
  • Managers, directors, scrum masters 
  • Team leads
  • Infrequent contributors
  • Excludes users from metrics
Hide
  • Users who left the organization
  • Users not part of the organization

  • Removes from the user list

  • Excludes users from metrics

  • Removes users from teams

  • Disables login for users

When to exclude users

You can exclude users from your reports so you only see your team. Learn more about the data associated with these non-organization users in the API Guide: how to locate unknown users in your data.

Excluding users removes those users’ metrics from metrics and reports. Users who don’t contribute code or PR activity often may skew the team’s metrics. Excluding those users allows you to capture more accurate metrics for the team. 

For example, you may have engineering managers, directors, or scrum masters assigned to your team so they can access the team’s metrics. You may also have QA engineers commenting on tickets and PRs, but not contributing much code. Since they don’t contribute code, excluding them from metrics will prevent them from distorting the metrics for the team. 

Learn more about excluding users from reports.

When to hide users

Users who are not part of your organization or who left your organization more than 12 months ago may be imported when you import an open source repo. Hidden users allows leaders to hide these users. Hiding users removes them from the team list and excludes those users’ data from the metrics. This keeps your focus on the users who are part of your organization.

Once a user is hidden, they will be hidden from the User list, removed from all teams, have a badge on their user detail page, and their data is excluded from metrics. You can hide and unhide users from their User detail page. 

Note: Hiding users excludes those users from the historical metrics. 

Learn more about hidden users.

back to top


If you need help, please email support@pluralsight.com for 24/7 assistance.