Introduction to channels

Tags: Skills

You can organize your learning experience—or that of your team—and align it with your organization's goals. Combine courses, paths, and even content outside of Pluralsight to create a custom learning journey.

Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:
Managers:  
Admins:  


What can I do with channels?

Learners can monitor their progress as they complete channel sections, and plan admins and team managers can tap into powerful channels analytics.

By default, all Pluralsight Skills accounts can create a channel and add content to it.

You can add members to channels, set advanced sharing and privacy settings, set objectives for channels, and—on a team plan—view analytics.

back to top


How can channels help me learn?

Channels help you organize the content you want to learn. Whereas bookmarks help you save individual pieces of content, channels allow you to collect paths, courses, projects, Skill IQ assessments, and external content all in one place. For example, you could create a channel around a topic, such as understanding cloud security, or you could create a channel around a goal, like preparing for a PMP exam.

back to top


Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:  
Managers:  
Admins:  

How can channels help my team learn?

You can skill up your team with targeted channels to increase proficiency in certain subjects, such as JavaScript or soft skills. You can also onboard new hires faster by integrating your own organization's content. Plan admins and team managers can set objectives for these channels, such as onboarding, switching technology, or skilling up—or with custom objectives.

Anyone can create a channel in Skills. And you can add contributors and share a channel company-wide, delegating the management and creation of channels to experts within your team.

See Understanding the different roles in channels to learn more.

back to top


How do I find my channels?

You can set a channel's privacy level to “personal” or “company”. Personal channels are only visible to you and others with whom you share a link—or who share the link with you. Company channels, on the other hand, are visible to anyone within your team plan.

The channels home page (opens in new tab) displays channels that are visible to you and organizes them into the following types of channels:

  • My channels are the channels you’ve joined. These are further filtered by “Created by me”, “Joined”, and “Invited”, if applicable. Click any of these sub-filters to view the respective channels.
  • My groups are the personal channel groups you've set up to organize your channels. These channel groups are only visible to you. Click the + plus icon to add a new channel group.
  • Archive includes channels you've removed from your active list, without permanently deleting them.
  • Company channels are the channels that have been made visible on your team plan, whether or not you’ve joined them. To join a company channel, hover over the desired channel, click the ••• options menu, then click Join.

Company priorities are set up by your organization by either plan admins or team managers. See priorities for leaders or priorities for learners for more information.

back to top


Who can use this?

 StndPremStrtProEnt
Learners:     
Managers:  
Admins:  

How can I manage company channels on multiple plans?

If you’re a team manager or plan admin on more than one team plan, keeping all your company channels organized can be a challenge. Skills simplifies this for you with the plan switcher.

Use the plan switcher to navigate between your team plans. You’ll only see the company channels of the plan you’ve selected.

Can't find a company channel you thought was there? Use the plan switcher to see if it's located in a different plan.

Create a channel in the wrong plan? It's easy to move it. Open the channel, then click the Edit Channel button. Choose the desired plan from the Select account drop-down choices, then click Done.

Need to copy a channel to another plan? First duplicate the channel, then move it to the other plan using the instructions above. The copied channel is independent of the original and either channel can be renamed or edited to the needs of their respective plan.

back to top


If you need help, please email Support (opens email form) for 24/7 assistance.